Mexico, India, Ireland, Norway elected to UNSC; Africa seat open | Mexico News

Mexico, India, Ireland and Norway have been elected to take up a two-year term on the United Nations Security Council, but a rerun is needed for the contested fifth seat after there was no clear winner.

Neither Kenya nor Djibouti on Wednesday gained the required two-thirds majority to win the Africa seat on the 15-member council, meaning another round of voting is needed on Thursday. 


Canada lost out to Ireland and Norway in a hotly contested election in the council’s “Western European and others” group. India and Mexico’s uncontested bids for the Asia-Pacific and Latin America…

Source link

About Author: ACM
This information is 3rd party content that is added to ACM strictly for non-commercial informational purposes. Information is the Key to Set the Black Mind Free